General information

Kazakhstan is a unitary state with a presidential form of government. The President of the Republic of Kazakhstan is the head of state, its highest official determining the main course of the government’s domestic and foreign policies and representing Kazakhstan within the country and in international relations.


2,724,900 sq. km (1,052,085 sq. miles)
9th largest country in the world.
2nd largest country amongst CIS nations.

Population: 17,9 million people.

National currency: Tenge

Time: 6 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (Almaty, Astana). Kazakhstan is divided into two time zones: eastern (basic) and western zones.

Language: Kazakh is the state language. Among state organizations and local authorities, Russian is used along with the Kazakh language.

Religion: Nowadays, Kazakhstan is a religiously diverse country where more than 3000 religious associations operate, representing 40 denominations. Islam and Christianity are the prevailing religions.

Administrative and territorial divisions:

Akmola region

Zhambyl region

Mangystau region

Almaty region

West-Kazakhstan region

Pavlodar region

Aktobe region

Karaganda region

North-Kazakhstan region

Atyrau region

Kostanay region

South-Kazakhstan region

East-Kazakhstan region

Kyzylorda region

Cities of national importance: Astana – the capital of Kazakhstan; Almaty